NROC is powered by:







NROC Rulebook
The official rulebook of the 2012 National Roller Cup

The National Roller Cup is an inline racing series for pro and fitness skaters. It uses a point system to rank skaters based on their performance in participating inline racing events.

NROC Rulebook

New for 2012

Here are the big changes for 2012:

  1. Divisions: 10 year groups starting at age 30.
  2. Skaters are placed in divisions based on their age on January 1, 2012.
  3. Advanced skaters earn points in the Chicagoland Inline Tour.
  4. Skaters wear bibs to identify their NROC divisions.

Categories for Skaters

The National Roller Cup has three types (categories) of skaters: Professional, Advanced and Youth. Skaters choose a category when they sign up based on their level of skill and competitiveness.


The Pro category is for the top competitors in the sport of inline racing. Register Pro if you are an adult and among the top skaters in your age bracket (see “divisions” below).


The Advanced category is for skaters who enjoy competing but do not expect to finish with the top competitors in their age bracket.

If you are not sure whether to register as a Pro or Advanced skater, refer to the wave placement chart of the Northshore Inline Marathon. If you skate in one of the waves in the Northshore, register for Advanced. If you have not skated the Northshore, use the wave placement chart to decide where you belong.


The Youth category is for skaters who are 17 year of age or younger. However, world class teens may register in the Open Pro division with the approval of their parents or guardians.

Note: NROC officials reserve the right to change a skater's division when deemed appropriate. Our goal is to discourage sandbagging and to help protect the safety of participants.


Skaters compete in divisions based on age, ability and gender. The Pro Open Division is the top category. It is for elite skaters, 18 to 29 years old. But a Pro skater may choose to skate in the Open division, rather than his or her appropriate age division.

Other skaters are placed in divisions based on: 1) their category (Pro, Advanced, Youth); 2) their gender; and 3) their age as of Jan. 1, 2012.

Pro divisions: name, designation, and age range:

Advanced divisions: name, designation, and age range:

Youth divisions:


Men and women compete in separate divisions.

Division Placement

NROC places skaters in age divisions based on their age on January 1, 2012.

Changing divisions during a season is discouraged. But reasonable requests for category or divisional changes will be considered on a case by case basis (email:


NROC classifies events as Major or Mega.

At Major events, skaters earn regular points and one score. At Mega events, skaters earn double points and two scores. 

How Points Are Awarded

Skaters earn points based on their order of finish at participating events. Points are awarded to the top 20 skaters or teams in each division.

Final scores are based on a skaters five top scores for the season.

In the case of ties, the skater who wins the most face-to-face matchups is ranked above the other. When there are no face-to-face matchups, tie area allowed to stand.

Skaters must have an NROC license to earn points in races. (They must be registered before an event to earn points in the event.)

Cash prizes are awarded in the Pro divisions. The size of the cash prize will be based on the number of skaters in the category. (The more skaters who sign up, the more money we will have for prizes.)

Skaters in the advanced division will win jerseys, medals and bragging rights.

Earning Maximum Points

The maximum number of points a skater can earn is 500: 100 x 5 events.

Skater could earn maximum points by competing in five races or as few as three (two Megas and a Major). But NROC encourages skaters to compete in as many races as possible in order to maintain a high level of competition throughout the season.

Point Races

Points are earned in the designated race or races at participating events.

At most events, points are earned in the marathon.

At Mega events, double points will be awarded as follows:

At the Metrodome Inline Marathon, skaters will be ranked based on the time of the Team Time Trial event or solo marathon, whichever is better.

Youth skaters will earn points in both the marathons and half marathons (or similar distance) of participating events. Youth skaters who compete in the full marathon will earn the top points.

Team Rankings

NROC will rank Pro teams based on the order of finish of their top skaters. The scores of the top three Pro skaters for men's teams and the top two Pro skaters for women's teams will count toward the total.

Membership Licenses

A license is required to participate in the National Roller Cup (NROC).

Licence fees are:

Wave Assignments at Races

In races with separate starts for different divisions, skaters must start with the group that reflects their NROC division unless race rules dictate otherwise. This rule is intended to keep skaters on a level playing field.

At the Northshore Inline Marathon, advanced and youth skaters will be ranked based on clock time, regardless of the division they skate.

Other Rules

On questions of cross-drafting and other issues that vary from race to race, NROC defers to the rules of the participating event.

Starting in April 2012, NROC skaters will be required to wear their NROC number during all NROC events. The number will identify a skater's race division, making it easier for skaters to identify the competition. Place your number on the OPPOSITE leg of your event number. Please do not fold, crinkle or alter your number.

The NROC organizers reserve the right to revise rules as necessary to deal with unforeseen circumstances.




Copyright © 2012 Inline Planet

Inline Planet