NROC Rulebook - 2011 (preliminary)
The official rulebook of the 2011 National Roller Cup

The National Roller Cup is an inline racing series for pro and fitness skaters. It uses a point system to rank skaters based on their performance in participating inline racing events.

NROC Rulebook

New for 2011

Here are the big changes for 2010:

  1. Final season point total will be based on skaters' top five (5) scores.
  2. New events: Metrodome Inline Marathon and 24h Roller Montreal
  3. Chicagoland Inline Tour becomes Mega event.


NROC skaters compete in three categories further split into divisions, based on gender and age. The categories are pro, advanced and youth.

Pro is for the top competitors in the sport of inline racing. Advanced is for skaters who enjoy competing but expect to finish well behind the top skaters. Youth is for skaters who are 17 and below. (Note: Qualified younger skaters can choose to skate in the open pro division but must have a pro license.)

Register for pro if you skate elite in the NorthShore Inline Marathon. If you skate Wave A or slower, register advanced. If you have not skated the NorthShore, use its wave placement chart to help make your choice.

Skaters select a category when they register for NROC. NROC officials reserve the right to switch a skater's division when deemed appropriate. Sandbagging is discouraged.


Categories are split into divisions based on gender and age. In addition, in the pro division, there is an open category for the top skaters, regardless of age.

Pro divisions:

Advanced divisions:

Youth divisions: (New for 2010)


Men and women compete in separate divisions.

Division Placement

Skaters are placed in divisions based on their age on July 1, 2011. When registering for an NROC license, pro skaters can select to be placed in the open division.

Jumping from division to division is discouraged, although reasonable requests will be considered on a case by case basis (email: [email protected]).


NROC has three categories of events: Mega, Major and Class A. Mega events count as two races; Major events count as one; Class A events count as one-half.

How Points Are Awarded

Skaters will earn standard points at Major events and double points in Mega events (See chart above). Points are awarded to the first 20 skaters in each category at Mega and Major events and the first 10 skaters at Class A events.

Points will be added from race to race. But only a skater's top five scores will count toward his or her final point tally.

The skater with the most points at the end of the season will be named the NROC champion in his or her division.

Cash prizes will be awarded in the pro divisions. The size of the cash prize will be based on the number of skaters in the category. (The more skaters who sign up, the more money we will have for prizes.)

In the case of ties, skaters who win the most face-to-face matchups will be the winner. If there are no face-to-face matchups, the tie will stand.

Skaters in the advanced division will win jerseys, medals and bragging rights.

Earning Maximum Points

Skaters who want to score maximum points will have various ways to structure their season. For instance, they could skate two Mega event and one Major event; or they could skate five major races

Point Races

Points will be based on results in the designated race or races in participating events.

At most events, points will be earned in the marathon.

At Mega events, double points will be awarded to skaters who compete as follows:

At the 24h Roller Montreal and Metrodome Inline Marathon, skaters will be ranked based on the time of their team or their solo time, whichever is better, if they skate both.

World team members who attend the New York 100K will receive double points in both the 100K and the marathon. (We are doing this to make it easier for World Team skaters to skate this event without altering their training for the World Championships.)

Youth skaters will earn points in both the marathons and half marathons (or similar distance) of participating events. Youth skaters who compete in the full marathon will earn the top points.

Team Rankings

NROC will rank teams based on the order of finish of their top skaters. The scores of the top three skaters for men's teams and the top two skaters for women's teams will count toward the total.

Membership Licenses

To participate in the 2010 National Roller Cup skaters must purchase a 2010 NROC license ($55 pro and advanced; $30 for youth).

Wave Assignments at Races

In races with separate starts for different divisions, skaters must start with the group that reflects their NROC division unless race rules dictate otherwise. This rule is intended to keep skaters on a level playing field.

At the Northshore Inline Marathon, advanced and youth skaters will be ranked based on clock time, regardless of the division they skate.

Other Rules

On questions of cross-drafting and other issues that vary from race to race, NROC defers to the rules of the participating event.

The NROC organizers reserve the right to revise rules as necessary to deal with unforeseen circumstances.




Copyright © 2010 Inline Planet

Inline Planet