What Are The Typical Bad Habits?

If you're learning to skate or want to help others get rolling, this is the forum for you. It's moderated by Kathy McSparran, the Inline Planet's Skate Coach.

Moderator: SkateCoach

What Are The Typical Bad Habits?

Postby fcohen on Mon Sep 04, 2006 6:35 pm

I've been skating since about 1995 on inline skates. I've never taken a lesson. So my bad habits are probably pretty good. Of course, I don't know what they are!

The first time I was video taped during a down-hill race skiing clinic, I saw a dozen things I was doing wrong.

What are the typical bad habits for inline skaters and what do you recommend?

-Frank
fcohen

Postby SpeedyGapper on Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:49 am

Hey Frank,

I'm sure Kathy have a list that will be more complete, and maybe she can elaborate on some of the ones that I can think of below and what you could do about them...

Here's a few from the top of my head:

- skating too upright (not bending upper body slightly lower to be a bit more forward)

- upper body move to face one side to the other too much, or bob up and down (beginners)

- not bending the knees (straight-legged) while body is hanging forward too far, sapping a lot of energy!

- Pushes are weak because Knees are not bend...

- toe-flicking or toe-out (not pushing evenly on all 4 or 5 wheels of your skates) -- See Article from Barry: http://www.fasst.com/articles/2003may/2003may-ask.htm

- pushing to the back instead of to the side

- skating with knees & feet too wide apart ("A-Framing", or lack of recovery of the free skate inwards and not far enough... no power to the pushes because skate not under weight of body)

- nose/knee/toes alignment not observed (not weight transfer enough, or weight not directly over skate)

- set down too soon, strides too quick overall (not using weight transfer to help delay setdown, to let the fall of the body to help lengthen the push)